Mosaic Monday: Father’s day poetry contest!

Hello lovely readers!  I am spicing things up by having a poetry contest.  I would love for you to write a poem about your father, father’s day, dads, etc…  Post it in the comments and you could win all three greeting cards shown in the mosaic 😀  Winner will be chosen June 9, 2011.  Good luck, Bon Chance!!

3 recycled greeting cards_handmade by me

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Mosaic Mondays

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer + Designer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Mosaic Monday: Father’s day poetry contest!”

  1. Lola London
    May 31, 2011 at 11:39 #

    Something is different;
    something is happening.
    New buds are beginning to grow
    in a mind they called barren and slow.
    My sculpture has been called
    a masterpiece, a work of art,
    all because my dad never
    gave up even from the start.
    As he read to me each night,
    he assured me I would have
    a great life.

    Never a negative word he said,
    but instead he poured
    possibilities into my head.
    Soon even I began to believe
    that someone like me could
    overcome and achieve.
    Don’t believe what the
    naysayers speak.
    Be strong and know that
    they are weak.

    My dad now lives in heaven above
    and I dedicate my sculpture to
    him with all my love.

  2. Sandy Rollins
    May 31, 2011 at 16:18 #

    I don’t remember much…the way you smelled, your loving touch. You weren’t my daddy very long. By the time I was 10 you were already gone.But the best thing about you that stays with me, is the love I felt when you played with me. Though we saw you little, didn’t have much time, the time we had was yours and mine. God took you away from us far too soon. And I’ve always wondered what my life would have been…..if I’d grown up with daddy, as my first man.

  3. linda tipton
    June 1, 2011 at 12:24 #

    Lessons from my Daddy
    from your middle child Linda Lee Hazlewood Tipton

    Driving on the water’s edge with the sky a brilliant blue
    I can see our sails catch the wind recalling days I spent with you
    Flying through the water , hanging on your every word
    Another tip on sailing or names of soaring birds

    And then one day you said to me,

    ” Take the sails and set them, toward your destination
    Grab the tiller and you take charge without any reservation”

    I was just a girl in braids, but , I held the tiller tight
    and I set my goal for a sandy beach , just beyond my sight

    Daddy, I keep the wind in my sails
    My hand on the tiller too
    and my life has been bold and exciting
    because of this lesson I learned from you

    I love you Daddy, everyday
    and when I smell the salty air
    I know you can see the sun on my sails
    and the wind in my graying hair.

    • Sandy Rollins
      June 1, 2011 at 18:58 #

      Linda, as always, your poetry astounds me, and the lessons in this beautiful tribute to your father could apply to all of us. Once again I wish I had grown up with a father, to see where my life might have been different.

    • June 1, 2011 at 23:07 #

      I love this Linda!

  4. June 1, 2011 at 15:30 #

    A Lifetime of Learning
    When I was little, you towered over me, speaking in a big, booming voice
    that meant business, and I knew security and safety.
    Sometimes I sat in your lap, leaning into the crook of your left arm, as you read the newspaper, and I looked at the pictures understanding the importance of learning and education.

    As I grew bigger, your quiet determination taught me that I, too, could
    accomplish my goals. You insisted that I learn to live with my sisters, that mean words and fighting were not ways to get along.

    As a teenager, I watched you hug and kiss Momma and learned how
    relationships work. I witnessed your kitchen romance, heard your quiet laughter, and saw longing when one of you was away, and I wanted a marriage of love and laughter and longing for myself.

    I began another family, finding a man who fit into ours. You accepted him
    and cherished him and loved him, and he held you in great esteem, knowing
    respect, seeing the importance of marriage in your example, wanting to stay, to be a part of something wonderful and safe and lasting.

    I gave life to others, doing the best I could with them, knowing that my best
    was the only thing I could offer: my love, the safety and comfort of home, hard work, education. I make mistakes, I apologize, I keep trying: you taught me how.

    Now we talk about our lives and you teach me that I come from more than
    just family–I share a destiny and past with a people whose culture and pride are a part of me, and I try to share that with others.

    So now, as you reach for the pinnacle of your life, I honor you. The
    memories and images I hold of you have given me lessons and direction. They help guide me in difficult times an dhelp me to appreciate good times, family, and love.
    They nurture me and ground me and enlighten me. I am today because of you.

    Written for my father for his 70th birthday.

    • Sandy Rollins
      June 1, 2011 at 18:59 #

      This is wonderful, and you are so lucky to still have your father. What a beautiful tribute to him and the lessons he taught.

  5. linda tipton
    June 1, 2011 at 19:40 #

    what a lovely gift to your father on his 70th birthday..Good wishes from me.

  6. linda tipton
    June 1, 2011 at 19:44 #

    Sandy…your daddy would be so proud of you today…maybe by age ten, he had given you the foundation you have used throughout your life. You are a sweet woman, my friend

Leave a Reply

