Father’s Day: a poem by Linda L. Tipton

Lessons from my Daddy
from your middle child Linda Lee Hazlewood Tipton

Driving on the water’s edge with the sky a brilliant blue
I see our sails catch the wind and recall days I spent with you
Flying through the water , hanging on your every word
Another tip on sailing or names of soaring birds
And then one day you said to me,
” Take the sails and set them, toward your destination
Grab the tiller and you take charge without any reservation”
I was just a girl in braids, but , I held the tiller tight
and I set my goal for a sandy beach , just beyond my sight
Daddy, I keep the wind in my sails
My hand on the tiller too
and my life has been bold and exciting
because of this lesson I learned from you
I love you Daddy, everyday
and when I smell the salty air
I know you can see the sun on my sails
and the wind in my graying hair.
Tags: , ,

Categories: BleuOiseau Photography Happenings, Uncategorized

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Father’s Day: a poem by Linda L. Tipton”

  1. linda tipton
    June 19, 2011 at 10:25 #

    thank you so much for the beautiful display of my poem and photo.. I know Daddy would have been the first to compliment and thank you!..Love, Lin

  2. June 19, 2011 at 10:55 #

    you are so welcome linda!

  3. June 20, 2011 at 15:59 #

    Brava!

Leave a Reply

