Mosaic Monday: Columbia Gorge Discovery Center

 

Not sure where I have been the last 6 years but I have totally been missing out!  We took the kiddos to see the presentation on bats at the Columbia Gorge Discovery Center in The Dalles the Sunday before Halloween.  It was about the misconceptions that people have about bats.  Personally, I think bats are cool and I have been wanting to make a bat box.  Did you know that they eat like a thousand mosquitoes in an hour?!  I wish they had had a live one to show us…

We stayed for most of the lecture on ravens and owls but the kiddos got a little too restless.  So we checked out the center and the surrounding grounds…way cool!  I am so glad I brought my camera but I now have somewhere else to take the kiddos in The Dalles. FYI if you ever need a rainy day or quick fun thing to do…take your kids to a pet store!  Yep, I do this and quite often when I have other shopping to do.  It breaks up the trip for the kids and it is pretty cool hearing their squeaks of delight at discovering new animals…snakes anyone?

 

I had fun turning these photos vintage.  It gives it a sense of the history that surrounds the land.  I love this part of the Gorge in the Fall/Winter.

 

HAPPY MONDAY YA’LL 😀

 

Tags: , ,

Categories: Mosaic Mondays

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer + Designer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Mosaic Monday: Columbia Gorge Discovery Center”

  1. November 7, 2011 at 14:02 #

    The Discovery Center is a gem! We went once a couple years ago and walked in to find a birds of prey presentation. I was impressed with the exhibits, and the river that runs through the center area was so fun for us. Lots of things for the kids to touch, too. Nice shot of the fountain!

    • November 7, 2011 at 16:23 #

      Marisa, it was so cool! And I had no clue. I went to a wedding there 8 years ago and that was it! We will definitely be going more often ;D

  2. November 7, 2011 at 15:20 #

    Snakes? Absolutely not!! But I do love animals. Just not slimey, creepy ones, lol. Sounded like a great day!

    • November 7, 2011 at 16:22 #

      Lol! My daughter was and still is pretty crazy about snakes…I have a picture of her carrying a dead garter snake when she was 3. My son is now in the habit of grabbing spiders whenever he sees them! Not sure if it has anything to do with me being a biologist at one point in time 😀

Leave a Reply

