This is for the birds!

Last week, I received the most lovely gift…for my birds!  A friend of mine gave me two bird seed ornaments.  As a bird lover, I was overjoyed (excuse the Angelina Ballerina-ism) to have them.  I had been meaning to make some with my kiddos.  Now I had two and a peaked interest to make my own.

I found a recipe and set a plan to work on making our own once my son went to sleep.

Here is our set up:
bird-seed1

DSC_0012

I measure and my little chicky pours:
DSC_0015

DSC_0018

She did most of the mixing and filled quite a few up.  Be careful, this stuff is sticky!!
DSC_0020

We used what cookie cutters we had even though some of them had some crazy corners :/
DSC_0021

We had a bear, hedgehog, star, angel, snowflake, fox, gingerbread man, two hearts, tree and a snail.
DSC_0029

I believe the birds enjoyed them!
juncos-on-the-bird-seed-orn

If you Google, bird seed ornament, you can find many recipes. I cannot seem to find the one I used! Have fun and remember, it will be messy 😀

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: BleuOiseau Photography Happenings

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “This is for the birds!”

  1. December 30, 2011 at 11:56 #

    And who had most fun i wonder??!!

    • December 30, 2011 at 12:24 #

      She was so excited to do this project and for me to post it online 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Martha is my new best friend! | ashinbleu - January 2, 2012

    […] happened to have most of the ingredients from my bird seed ornament making.  I couldn’t believe how easy they were to make and how delicious (I made the […]

Leave a Reply

