Martha is my new best friend!

Who doesn’t like a good marshmallow, right?  I know my kiddos love them and I buy them somewhat regularly.  But since I have been on Pinterest lately, I have seen recipes for making your own gourmet ones.  There are even quite a few on Etsy that you can buy.  I bought some  for my mother-in-law from this store.  I am not quite sure why I didn’t buy any for myself because I have been eyeing this shop for months 😀

After watching this video (left hand side) from Martha Stewart, I decided to make my own. (Btw, I love Claire Danes)

I happened to have most of the ingredients from my bird seed ornament making.  I couldn’t believe how easy they were to make and how delicious (I made the peppermint flavor)!!  One thing though, the recipe said to spray the pan then place the saran wrap then put the marshmallow on top, well don’t do it!  Place your saran wrap in your pan THEN spray with the oil.  I totally learned the hard way and have to believe it was just a typo on Martha’s part.  I didn’t have a 9×9 pan but instead used an 8×8 pan which turned out fine and you could even use something longer and less deep so they don’t come out so big.  My daughter is dying for us to make shapes but my cookie cutters are quite large, but definitely something to think about as I am now addicted to making marshmallows!

I made another batch with orange extract and candied ginger.  I liked the orange flavor but wish I went with ginger spice versus candy ginger (there were a few chunks of ginger in the marshmallow even though I boiled it with the sugar).  I will stick with the peppermint (my favorite) and may try another one later.

marshmallow mountain
marshmallow mountain

hot cocoa_marshmallow
yummy in my hot chocolate

I hope everyone had a wonderful New Year’s Eve…Happy New Year and Monday,  ya’ll 😀

Categories: BleuOiseau Photography Happenings, Mosaic Mondays

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer + Designer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Martha is my new best friend!”

  1. January 2, 2012 at 20:00 #

    Looks delicious!! I *love* Pinterest 🙂

    • January 2, 2012 at 22:02 #

      They are most definitely delicious! I am making two batches tomorrow. I am giving some to a friend who is pregnant 😀 I love Pinterest too…I will find you!

  2. January 5, 2012 at 23:00 #

    I LOVE homemade marshmallows! I haven’t made any in a year or two, but my recipe also came from Martha. Your pictures are lovely and really made me want to make some again. *sigh* Guess I’m gonna have to go to the store in a day or two. lol! : )

    • January 6, 2012 at 08:57 #

      Aren’t they so tasty?! I have gotten a wonderful response from friends who have tasted them. My husband wants me to see if the local cafe wants any 😀 They are so addictive to make to, I have lots of recipe ideas in my head!

Leave a Reply

