BleuOiseau Creations, more than pictures

When I was in high school, I didn’t take Home Economics, not sure why.  I guess I am not really the domestic type…clean home-blah, cooking-blah, sewing-blah!  I wasn’t taught how to cook (my mom is a great cook) or sew (she didn’t do this) though I did have chores.  I was usually outside hanging with friends, doing cartwheels in the yard, playing in the dirt, you know, tomboy stuff.

A friend of my mom’s though did teach me how to cross stitch one year.  I did enjoy it and made lots of stuff.  In college, I didn’t do a lick of cross stitching. I actually haven’t picked up a needle until a couple of years ago when I was invited to join a knitting group.  I made a couple of scarves but never really got the hang of it.  Then my good friend Katie, came to knitting one night with an embroidery project.  I was fascinated and decided I would try that instead.  After purchasing a couple of books, Sublime Stitching and Doodle Stitching, I was ready to start!

I am completely hooked and have stitched a ton of stuff, tote bags, onesies, t-shirts, pants, and even paper!  I am currently working on a couple of onesies for a dear friend who is pregnant with her first child.  She is not finding out the sex of the baby so it is a challenge to find the right gender neutral pattern/colors.  I chose 3 little chicks for one and a mushroom house for the other because they own an organic mushroom farm 😀

It is pretty cool to say that this once serious tomboy can and does enjoy stitching though I refuse to cross stitch.

Recent embroidery projects:

bird and letter L for baby Lark

tree for baby Lark

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Past favorite projects:

all time favorite! skull on tote

dancer on tote

butterfly on tote for my little chicky--first time working with beads!

my little chicky drew this picture--I stitched it on totes and t-shirts!

Tags:

Categories: BleuOiseau Photography Happenings

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “BleuOiseau Creations, more than pictures”

  1. January 5, 2012 at 17:45 #

    Those are too cute!

    • January 5, 2012 at 18:50 #

      Thanks! I need to write a tutorial 😀

  2. January 5, 2012 at 18:49 #

    I really love embroidery! I wish I had more time to do them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Favorites Friday: Valentines gag gifts | ashinbleu - January 6, 2012

    […]  Fun embroidery (because you know I love embroidery […]

Leave a Reply

