Monday Mosaic: What’s my style?

I have decided to submit some of my artwork to my local art gallery(ahh, it’s juried!).  Exciting right??  Well I am having a hard time deciding what to submit.  I am trying to figure out what best defines BleuOiseau Photography.  I made a few mosaics to see what works best together.  I am having a hard time finding cohesiveness and defining my work.  Am I a wildlife photographer, a landscape photographer, or fine art photographer?

I wanted to submit all birds but my husband then defined me as a wildlife photographer–like it was a bad thing or limited.  I mean, I LOVE birds but I don’t want to be defined as a bird photographer unless it lands me a job with the Audubon Society (which is a dream by the way).  I tried putting together a few of my Twisted Series which are fun to make but you either love them or hate them.  I didn’t have much luck with them on my Facebook page so I won’t submit them.  I made a third mosaic trying to tie in a variety of my artwork.  It showcases my favorite Twisted print, the Dancing Tower, and a few of my other favorites which I tried to make cohesive with color.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So what is my style then?  I don’t think I slept well last night thinking about this.  Looking through my photos, I see there is a theme and that theme is nature photography.  This really doesn’t surprise me.  I mean I hold a degree in Resource Biology.  I hike, run, and cross country ski.  I am constantly birding and so is my family.  There isn’t a day that we aren’t talking about birds or the bird feeder…but does that define my photography?  No.  I love to shoot other things as well and therefore, I am going to submit the photos in my third mosaic.

Now which medium do I use?  Metal prints, ThinWraps or wood blocks…so many decisions to be made before next Monday!

P.s. Just saw that the lovely ladies from fPOE have featured me this week!  Thanks a ton for the shout out!!  Happy Monday ya’ll 😀

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: BleuOiseau Photography Happenings, Mosaic Mondays

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer + Designer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Monday Mosaic: What’s my style?”

  1. January 9, 2012 at 13:06 #

    I think you made a good decision. The third set showcases your love of nature and your photography style without being too limiting. Good luck with the rest of your decisions!

    • January 9, 2012 at 13:56 #

      Thanks Marisa! I changed my mind again…I decided to do 3 big photos of birds though your comment makes want to change my mind yet again! Argh, I need to make a decision tonight so I can order the prints before this Sunday.

  2. January 9, 2012 at 19:39 #

    I think the third mosaic most reflects, at least for me, what your photography style is. Diverse with a great eye. Good luck 🙂

    • January 9, 2012 at 20:02 #

      Thanks Trina! I went with just 3 and may bring some framed stuff I already have of Louisiana.

Leave a Reply

