Le livre du jour: The Hotel on the corner of bitter and sweet by Jamie Ford

Since I haven’t done a book review in a while I thought I would do one today–though I haven’t finished it (blame it on late night watching of Sons of Anarchy).

I am amazed at how much of the local history I do not know or remember.  You see, I am from Louisiana and was taught Louisiana history in school (in conjunction with American history).  For the life of me, I do not remember anything on the Japanese internment camps in the Northwest.  I am sad that I missed a talk from a local Japanese family on this issue.  Luckily I was given this book as a Christmas gift because it touches on this subject.

So far it is a bittersweet novel about love and heartbreak, about opposing views and cultures.  It has peaked my interest in this part of our American history as well as Washington state history.  I for one will be researching more information on this subject.  If you like a good love story and history then I recommend this book.  If you have already read it, I would love to hear your thoughts.

Tags: , ,

Categories: book of the day, le livre du jour

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

