Birds in my backyard: Oregon junco

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These fun little birds are residents of my yard.  They are pretty fun to watch.  They visit my feeder but hang out and eat on the ground.

Dark-eyed Juncos are neat, even flashy little sparrows that flit about forest floors of the western mountains and Canada, then flood the rest of North America for winter. They’re easy to recognize by their crisp (though extremely variable) markings and the bright white tail feathers they habitually flash in flight. One of the most abundant forest birds of North America, you’ll see juncos on woodland walks as well as in flocks at your feeders or on the ground beneath them (Cornell Lab of Ornithology).

**I am thinking this will be a fun new feature every other Thursday!

 

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Birds in my backyard

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Birds in my backyard: Oregon junco”

  1. January 19, 2012 at 11:20 #

    I like this new feature! 🙂

    • January 19, 2012 at 14:07 #

      Thanks Marisa! It actually “hit” me when a junco hit our window :/ I was thinking what would I post about today at the same moment! Especially since my book reading has been slow this is a perfect solution 😀

Leave a Reply

