Birds in my backyard: Western Scrub-Jay

Jays don’t bother me….much.  I actually miss Blue Jays and the fits they used to put on for my viewing pleasure.  Up here in WA, we have the Stellar’s Jay and the Western Scrub-Jay.  And in fact, when I lived a little more west we only had Stellar’s.  I like the Western Scrub-Jays.  They don’t come around the feeder quite as often as the Stellar’s and they are less noisy.  Plus they have some beautiful blue feathers to boot…even a back side shot 😀

Both males and females sing a soft medley of sweet notes that can last up to 5 minutes. Scrub-jays typically do this only during courtship and when the pair is close together.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Birds in my backyard

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer + Designer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

