Stepping outside my comfort zone

I was so lucky to attend a Brooke Shaden Workshop this past weekend in Portland.  If you don’t know who Brooke is, check her out here.  She is such an amazing photographer and after her workshop, I now know she is an amazing person as well.

I learned a lot in her class; from new techniques in Photoshop to better ways to shoot.

If you just checked out her photography and know mine, then you know that we are seemingly worlds apart in what we shoot.  But that is what I love about her work, how very different it is from mine, how rich the colors, and how wonderful the stories.  I now know that I want my photos with people in them to tell a story.  I no longer will be content with just shooting poses!  Oh the fun ideas I can come up with for my kiddos ;D

One technique she went over was compositing which I haven’t tried before (or levitation).  I stayed up until midnight last night working on this and although she has Photoshop and I have Elements, I think I managed to get it worked out.

What do you think?

Group collaboration at workshop

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was going to leave the photo alone but decided to add my butterfly because I wanted her face to have more meaning, a story.  The butterfly is supposed to represent some sort of spiritual entity she is seeing…this was a lot of fun to play with and I am looking forward to the rest of my images.

Happy Monday ya’ll!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: BleuOiseau Photography Happenings

Author:ashinbleu

Natural Light Photographer + Designer fine art*landscape*portraiture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Stepping outside my comfort zone”

  1. July 16, 2012 at 15:07 #

    Lovely work! Sounds like a great workshop.

    • July 16, 2012 at 15:35 #

      Thank you…it was really wonderful 😀

  2. July 17, 2012 at 11:33 #

    I love it!

    • July 17, 2012 at 12:01 #

      Thanks Anika…I have a ton of new ideas now!

Leave a Reply

